Transportation

This was the other big adjustment for me. Chilean drivers are freaking crazy! They drive SO fast, and I’m not just saying this – they’ll even admit it. They change lanes left and right and don’t use turning signals, and yellow lights “don’t exist” and apparently the first 3-5 seconds of a red light are optional because on several occasions I’ve seen at least three cars sneak through after the light has changed. This makes it dangerous for pedestrians/bicyclists (another major method of transportation). But Chilean pedestrians are fearless. They stand right on the edge of the curb, practically in the road as cars are speeding past them, and the very second the light changes they start crossing the street whether there are cars coming at them or not. The other major form of transportation is public transportation – either the bus or the metro. I’ve got to admit I was terrified to ride the metro my first week here, but finally I did and I’ve ridden it a few times since. Although I never, ever want to even think about riding the metro during rush hour. The metro becomes packed full of passengers, so much so that you have to literally push yourself on or off of it. No matter which method of transportation you use here, I’ve learned that you have to be aggressive if you want to get where you’re going.

Transportation

Image

Leave a Reply

